Oldest and Largest Bengali Association of Manitoba

About Us

Thirty-five years ago, a few like-minded Bengali friends felt the need of having an organization that would represent the Bengali immigrant community residing here in Winnipeg. Thus 'Bichitra, Bengali Association of Manitoba' was formed in the year of 1978. Later it became an 'incorporated' body. It is a non-sectarian, non-political and non-profit organization. Bichitra is run by a democratically elected 'Executive Committee'. Its activities are conducted on voluntary basis following guide lines stated in the ‘By-Laws' which were adopted by the ' General Body'(membership) of Bichitra. The membership is open to any person or family who are or will be interested in the goal and policies of Bichitra.

The objectives of Bichitra are to promote the rich traditions and cultural heritage of Bengal among other ethnic communities, to re-affirm these values within Bengali families, and to educate our children in Bengali language, literature and history. Culturally, Bichitra over the years has curved out its own distinctive place and shines within the multicultural mosaic of Winnipeg through its rich performing arts of song, dance, music and drama. Our major annual functions include celebration of the Bengali New Year, observations of Rabindra-Najrul jayanti, the Canada-Day, participation in Winnipeg Folklorama festival (India pavilion), week-end camping in various places outside Winnipeg like Riding mountain, Clear lake, camp Manitou near Gimli etc.

Durga puja remains closest to the heart of Bengali people irrespective of places wherever they live in Bengal, India or worldwide. We also suffered from that nostalgia in the past in Winnipeg. Bichitra has been organizing Durga puja since 1981. Our puja is one of the few in North America that is held over all four days coinciding the actual puja dates in India. A puja-magazine called 'Agomoni' with literary and artistic contributions from our members is published following the holiday publications of 'puja sankhya' back at home. It is a great pleasure that “Agomoni” is now available online.

We acknowledge our long past crowded with glorious activities only befitting to a well-run organization. The responsibility now rests with the yonger generation, naturally, the 'old order changeth yielding place to new'. To serve Bichitra ahead, we welcome challenging ideas pursuing new endeavours consistent with the artistic and cultural heritage of Bengal.

Our history and heritage

In the year 1978, at the Thawani Tower, on the day of Saraswati Puja, considering the presence and urge of all community members, Dr. Samir Bhattachariya proposed to form a community club and every one cheerfully agreed. On the same year on the occasion of Sree Sree Ramakrishna Deb’s birthday celebration at the Hindu Society's office (Redwood & Main street corner) ‘Bichitra Bengali Association’ was formed. It soon surpassed all the deams of having a social organisation and became a true social, cultural and intellectual hub of the Bengalis in the city and around. Since then, over the last 35 years Bichitra curved out a distinctive role in our social fabric, it remains as the oldest and most vibrant Indian Bengali organisation in Winnipeg.

Bichitra's executive committee Structure:

President:Pijush Majumdar
Vice-president:Mrs. Karabi Roy Chowdhury (Rimi)
General secretary:Arindam Sarkar
Treasurer: Mrs. Suchita Ghosh
Cultural secretary:Surjya Banik
Food secretary:Swadesh Das
Publication secretary:Srijeet Saha
Members at large:Neil Ghosh & Mrs. Anita Pandey
Ex-officio member:Dr. Asit Dey
Following are the names of all the Presidents of Bichitra in chronological order:

Dr. Samir Bhattachariya 1978-1981
Dr. Mujibur Rahman 1982
Late Dr. Shibdas Biswas 1983 -1984
Late Dr. Ranen Sinha 1985
Mr. Makhan Bal 1986
Late Dr. Shibdas Biswas & Joya Halpenny 1987
Mr. Asim Roy 1988
Dr. Pradip Maiti 1989
Mrs. Maitreyi Chakraborty 1990
Dr. Snehasis Sinha 1991
Mr. Asim Roy 1992
Mr. Ashis Banerjee 1993
Mrs. Sumita Biswas 1994
Dr. Pradip Maiti 1996
Dr. Mrityunjay Samanta 1997
Dr. Pradip Maiti 1998-1999
Mrs. Sumita Biswas 2000-2001
Dr. Pradip Maiti 2002 -2003
Mr. Chitta Ranjan Ghosh 2004 - 2005
Dr.Manas Banerjee 2006 - 2007
Mrs. Sumita Biswas 2008 - 2011
Mr. Bhaskar Saha 2012 -2015
Mr. Asit Dey 2016 - 2018
Mr. Pijush Majumdar 2018 -